Celebrating Life on National Cancer Survivors Day

I’m Samantha, a twenty three year old cancer survivor completing a Year of Service at the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults (UCF). This June 2nd I will be celebrating life and I invite you to join me!

Sam will celebrate nearly 10 years as a cancer survivor on June 2nd!

Sam will celebrate nearly 10 years as a cancer survivor on June 2nd!

It was almost ten years ago that I diagnosed with Non Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. I was thirteen, a little rebellious, and at times over dramatic like most kids my age. There were no symptoms of being sick, no aches or pains and in the blink of an eye my life changed.

When I think back to that day a million images flash before my eyes, but I so vividly see my mom, my dad, and my brother. My family that from that day forward became my rock, my strength and my support. My family was there to keep me laughing, keep me smiling, and when things looked a little hazy, they were there to clear my vision.

I was diagnosed, but we were all going through this together.

About a year ago I started my fellowship at the Ulman Cancer Fund. My first week I met a thirteen year old who was going through treatment and was terrified about loosing her hair. I learned that the 4K for Cancer team stops at Camp Mak-A-Dream, a survivor’s camp where I spent two of my summers.  I listened to a young woman speak so openly about how she felt alone when she was diagnosed and how UCF helped her through her journey.

There are a lot of questions, fears, and concerns going through a diagnosis and what I’ve learned is it takes a community. It’s at UCF that I am reminded every day that it’s the support of friends and family, your network that helps make sense of it all.

It’s that community of support that gets you through the hard days. But, it’s that community of friends and family that make the good days that much brighter.

Ulman_Survivor websiteWe at the UCF believe that National Cancer Survivors Day (NCSD) is about a community of support. It’s a day to celebrate your life and the lives of those that have helped you through your journey.

So on this NCSD, I ask you to help us spread awareness and show your support to others.

Share your story.  One of the biggest ways you can help is by telling us what this day means to you and what you are celebrating.

  • You can download our “I’m a Survivor” and “In Honor Of” tiles to show us why you are celebrating this day.  Take a picture of yourself with the tile and tag the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults when you share it on Facebook or Twitter so we can help you to inspire even more people. Or you can email your story and pictures to: info@ulmanfund.org

Raise Awareness Not everyone may be aware of June 2nd being National Cancer Survivors Day and you can play a large role in making sure people know that it is approaching

  • Share NCSD graphics from our Facebook Page
  • Set one of our graphics or your tile picture as your profile picture in the days leading up to June 2nd.

Survivor Day IntroBe sure to encourage your family and friends to become involved in our campaign to celebrate NCSD. Your support in being a voice for the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults is appreciated by survivors like me!

 

About The Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults

The Mission of the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults is to enhance lives by supporting, educating and connecting young adults, and their loved ones, affected by cancer.
This entry was posted in Cancer Support, Events, Mission Awareness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrating Life on National Cancer Survivors Day

  1. Diana Ulman says:

    thanks for your post – you are an awesome inspiration to us and to so many others!

  2. Olivia says:

    Hi Samantha,
    thanks for your post. It’s so encouraging to read your story and great to spread the awareness. It;s nice to know there are other people out there a bit like me. I also began contributing to WordPress young cancer survivorship awareness recently with a blog called ‘Red Lipstck & Catheters’ which draws on my experiences of teenage cancer and young adult survivorship. Here’s a new post… if you feel like taking a look it would be really great! http://lipstickandcatheters.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/clock-colour-a-morning-routine/
    Thanks so much again… I will try to download the tiles too. Congratulations on your ten year anniversary 🙂
    Olivia x

Leave a Reply

