Berlin’s Casey Lupini Will Cycle Across America for Cancer

Casey Lupini a student at Clarkson University is participating in the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adult’s 4K for Cancer ride with a group of college-aged students on a 70 day, 4000+ mile bike ride from Baltimore to San Francisco, CA.

Screen shot 2013-05-28 at 3.53.03 PMFrom her fundraising page:

What is your connection with the cancer community?

I have been very fortunate that cancer has not touched anyone that has been close to me. Before I was born, both my grandfather’s passed away from cancer. My grandfather on my father’s side died from pancreatic cancer and on my mother’s side, lung cancer. In high school, a fellow classmate was diagnosed with Leukemia. I admired her for her strength and resolve. She was determined to beat her illness and I am happy to say that she succeeded. I have participated in “Relay For Life”, and am always struck by the stories being told by cancer survivors. Because cancer has not been part of my personal life, I can’t fully understand the emotions it brings. I do, however, I want to fight this battle and keep cancer out of mine and other peoples lives.

And from an article in the Berlin Patch:

“People may wonder why I want to cycle across the country,” Lupini said. “It is a challenge that I am ready to attempt for not only personal reasons, but also in honor of those who have been, or are afflicted with cancer. After hearing about 4K for Cancer, I did some research and found that I really respected the principal idea and focus of the organization. It is a wonderful way for cancer survivors to reach out and tell their stories; on how they coped with having cancer and the impact it had on their lives. The awareness this riding challenge hopes to bring to people concerning cancer and its risks, along with cancer prevention is great.

“We will be doing this by visiting cancer patients at hospitals, cancer centers, and hospices, as well as hosting cancer education programs in the towns along the way in our trek across the country. We will also promote the benefits of a healthy lifestyle and how fitness can help reduce the risk of cancer and other disease. I would like to dedicate various sections of my journey to those you love; who are fighting, who have fought, or who have succumbed to this insidious disease.”

You can read the rest of the article here: http://berlin.patch.com/groups/around-town/p/berlin-s-casey-lupini-will-cycle-across-america-for-c5110dc52e0

About The Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults

The Mission of the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults is to enhance lives by supporting, educating and connecting young adults, and their loved ones, affected by cancer.
This entry was posted in 4K for Cancer, Fundraising, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

