The Heroes of our Everyday Lives

When I was younger, I would clutch the end of my chair watching Indiana Jones and even tailored my email to have Mario Lemieux’s ice hockey jersey number; my heroes at the time.

At the Celebrating Heroes Triathlon, I learned something about heroes. Heroes are the people just like me. They are just like me except for one thing: they have faced an overwhelming obstacle and fought it with an exceptional amount of strength. The struggle may or may not be glamorous but they battle with all their power. They fight and fight and fight until there is nothing more.

The thing is, as I listened to Alyssa Petroff speak on that Saturday, I realized she is a hero. She is amazing. She is brave. She not only went through cancer and treatment but she has made huge life decisions to keep moving forward. And she is brave enough to stand in front of a room full of people and share her story.

At the Celebrating Heroes Triathlon, I learned something about a team.

A team is made up of people just like me. But Team Fight is no ordinary team as I soon found out. The triathlon was winding down. And while there were still a good number of participants on the course, the same could not be said for the spectators and supporters.

Team Fight’s dedication circle is the way we focus on who we are fighting for prior to the start of every event we participate in

That is, until you went over the hill to the final stretch. I left our tent (and might I say it was an exceptional tent at that…the food and the space but especially the participants, the volunteers, and the supporters, EVERYTHING was amazing!) to take water to a few people I was told were still cheering on the final stretch. I got over the hill and was amazed to still see at least a dozen Team Fighters cheering on the remaining participants. Despite the heat and late hour of the day, they were lined up to cheer the participants to the finish and look for the remaining Team Fighters.

That is a true team and one that I am incredibly honored and motivated to be a part of. No one was prepared to leave until we knew everyone on our team was finished, and for that I was speechless and inspired.

(That and I realized I needed more waters!)

Working at the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults has been a learning experience and if I could learn all these things in one weekend, I can’t wait to see what else is waiting for me.

Natalie Fischer, Team Fight Intern

About The Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults

The Mission of the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults is to enhance lives by supporting, educating and connecting young adults, and their loved ones, affected by cancer.
This entry was posted in Events, Mission Awareness, Team Fight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

