Always look for the good…..

This weekend was fun, but came to a screeching halt with me driving from NYC to Mahwah, NJ and then to Baltimore at 6:30 a.m. this morning – arriving in Baltimore at 11:30 a.m. to a sick dog. I was supposed to be running 13.1 miles around Central Park with my sister and a group of about 30 women, called The Go Girls.

Lexy is not “just a dog” to me.  She was my first roommate in Baltimore.  She was there for me when I only had one other friend in a very new place and a tough time in my life.  Together we have run hundreds of miles all over – Baltimore and at home in NJ.  She’s a sweet dog and generally liked by all.

I went home for the weekend to run this half marathon, but I also did get to spend time with my family; even extended family. We celebrated my belated birthday over pizza, and carrot cake from the Cake Boss in Hoboken. I got to see my niece, my nephew, Mom, Dad, Sister, Brother-in-Law, Aunt and Cousin. Saturday morning we drove to Times Square to the Marriott Marquis, got our race packets down in the village and met The Go Girls for dinner at Don Giovannis – an amazing place!

After dinner my fiance told me the dog walker had come, but forgot to put our kitchen gate up and the dogs ransacked the garbage.  I didn’t think anything of it other than poor Chris had to clean up coffee grinds and a whole bunch of other messes.  He went for a drink; I went to sleep. I had three roommates for the evening, so I had my phone on silent. I woke up to a few text messages about dog throw up and 5 missed calls at 3:00 a.m.  I tried calling but got no answer, so immediately I thought, “it’s settled down, or they’re at the animal hospital.” I left Chris a message to call me back as I was worried and I hopped in the shower.

I know many of you are thinking that I probably could have stayed and just ran the race, rather than drive home, but Chris had to leave for a game this afternoon and I really didn’t know if Lexy was going to be okay. When we talked at 6:30 a.m., her tail was wagging but she had just thrown up and hadn’t had any water or food at that point. So, I contemplated running with my phone or just going home. When Chris told me he had a game today, my sister and I looked at each other and said the same thing – “I need to go.”

What if Lexy got really sick when we were both gone and there was no one to help her? I mean the bottom line is I am not a professional runner….and what I do for a living allows me to run any time I want….even in big races.  As I drove home, I was upset about Lexy and not running, but I began to go over all the good things that happened this weekend…..and then realized when talking to Chris that I actually did all of the fun things revolving around a race without having to run the race….don’t worry, I got my exercise as I cleaned for about three hours this afternoon after a 4 hour drive….and we just got in from about a 6 mile run.  And I am not as fast as Chris. 🙂

Kyle's dog Lexy

About Kyle Lubrano

Program Coordinator, Team Fight @UCF, runner, dog lover and retired soccer player and coach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

