Feeling Lucky

Kelly (on right) and her siblings

 

“What if your mom had never been diagnosed with cancer?  Your life would be so different right now.” As weird as it sounds, my friend was actually referring to how well my life has been going for the past year and a half. In the past months, I have met an entirely new community of people and everyone has an inspiring story and a huge heart. I think everyone in the cancer community comes to realize that we are the lucky ones.

I first heard that phrase when reading Lance Armstrong’s biography. I can’t say I disagree. My mother’s cancer diagnosis has helped me to realize what is really important. We all rush around for work, class, and sport. The time I love the most is when I’m just home with my family because I’m thankful that my mom is alive and healthy.

It isn’t just the luck of the Irish; but maybe it played a part – I’m half Irish. Anyone who has been affected by cancer is lucky to have been shown what is truly important in life. They have been lucky enough to learn the time with loved ones is so important. They have been lucky enough to meet others who have the same outlook on life as themselves. And they have been lucky enough to find people who will laugh and cry with them as well as support them in good times and bad.

I have been lucky enough to find The Ulman Cancer Fund and the Claudia Mayer Cancer Resource Center who supported the big plans of creating Teens Together, a support group for teens affected by cancer. I have been lucky enough to have been given the opportunity to intern doing something that I love for a cause I am passionate about. Most importantly, I am lucky that my mom is as full-spirited as ever and she continues to be there for me, my sister Becky, and my brother Patrick.

The Ulman Cancer Fund helps people to feel lucky everyday by connecting people through support, navigation programs, scholarship programs, and so much more. I am honored to have work with this organization and try everyday to pay my mom’s good luck forward.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

About Kelly Schwab

Intern at the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults Graphic Design
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

