A New Beginning

After years spent in the world of Human Resources, I started doing some soul searching and decided that I really wanted to work for an organization that is very meaningful to me and that has a positive impact on others.  Cue the heavenly music in 3, 2, 1…. Lo and behold the opportunity that I dreamed of manifested itself like some sort of miracle.  Now that may sound hokey and contrived, but honestly I feel like I won some sort of new career lottery.  Let me explain further.

First, working for the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults, is the perfect mix of all the things that I love; communicating, helping others, and sports.

I get to be the voice of UCF!  It’s my responsibility to ensure we connect in a positive and meaningful ways with our audience.  Our audience encompasses the cancer patients and their family and friends, our wonderful volunteers and our generous donors, and partners.  The methods we use to engage our audience are varied and include traditional communication – face-to-face, phone conversations, letters, & email and new media  – Twitter, Facebook, blogging, etc.  So be sure to become our fan on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ulmancancerfund and follow us on Twitter @UlmanCancerFnd

Helping others has been in my blood since I was a child.  From charity car washes to helping inner city youth, I’ve always wanted to make a difference in the lives of others and now I get to work for an organization that does this on a daily basis! Through providing patient navigation service, scholarship opportunities and creating young adult cancer awareness through sport.

If it hadn’t been for my love of sports, I would have never came to know UCF, as it was through triathlon and Team Fight that I learned of UCF. In joining Team Fight, not only did I get to participate in a sport that I love, I also came to know a great group of individuals who are also are committed to making a difference.  And it was through these relationships that created the prospect to work for UCF.  You just never know when a decision that you make along the way will create an opportunity that will change your life forever.

About rachelwiederhold

Fun-loving triathlete & former HR guru who decided to give up the corporate gig and follow my heart by helping young adults impacted by cancer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

