Couch to 5K Progress

A couple of weeks ago, I started talking about my New Year’s Resolution. If you’re having trouble remembering what I choose to conquer this year, I’ll give you a little reminder. I thought it would be great to join Team Fight and sign up to run a 5K.  I was a little nervous to even sign up at first because I am good at many things but running is not anywhere in my top 20! A friend of mine, Kristin, told me about the Couch to 5K running program and I thought that this would be a great place to jump-start my running career.

So I’m not gonna tell a little while lie and say that I hit the ground running. That didn’t happen at all. It has been way to cold at 5:30 in the morning for me to venture out of bed and start my running program. I would love to say that this was the only reason I hadn’t really started running but I was also just putting it off. So last week I MADE myself start. I sat down and wrote up a running plan that would fit into my schedule. I decided to start running on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings before work. Last Monday I actually made myself get out of bed and run. I think I deserve a cookie!

I started with a 5 min warm up walk. No problem! Then I started alternating 60 seconds of jogging with 90 seconds of walking until I did that for 20 minutes. It was harder than it sounds! I was tired but knew that this program was manageable for me and my hectic schedule.

I repeated my workout on Wednesday and again on Friday. I really do feel that it works. I plan on keeping up the pace. If I have to take an extra week to build up before I go onto the next phase so be it. I gave myself plenty of time to work up to running my 5K. I’m a lot less nervous about running it now than before I started.

Stay tuned for my very slow entrance into the world of running!

About Ashley Portrey

Volunteer Coordinator, AmeriCorps member, tennis player, Thanatologist, volunteer, and bargain shopper. Loves anything green, red skittles, tennis, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Couch to 5K Progress

  1. Jenni says:

    Awesome!! Love that program and you can so do this!!

  2. Good job, Ashley! I need to try that plan. Can’t wait to hear your progress,

  3. Pingback: The gift of being 50 « Run4joy59's Blog

Leave a Reply

