“Navigation”

I thought I would write a brief post this week about navigation.  Navigation is essentially what drives us here at the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults.  But what does this mean?  I had a great conversation yesterday with an old friend and we went back and forth about the broad spectrum about what navigation covers.  Well I will tell you what navigation means to me.

Navigation means:

  • Our ability to connect people to resources they want or need in their journey
  • A friendly face and ear that will just listen when things just plain suck
  • A team of cancer survivors training for a 5K with the help of a team of volunteers that they just met
  • A group of individuals training for events as part of a TEAM that raises awareness and funds
  • The ability for me to stand in front of a group and tell my sisters story and still have tears in my eyes
  • When someone stops by the office to just say “Thank You”
  • Delivering holiday presents to families who are focused on the fight of their lives
  • Being able to invite a new survivor friend and her husband to our annual gala as my guest
  • To award a small scholarship to a deserving individual so they can pursue higher education with a little less strain
  • Sitting in the office chatting with staff and friends about ideas of how we can help more people
  • Having a group of TEAM FIGHT mentors tell us that they really want to meet more of the people that we are serving
  • Watching the UCF team grow in size and in spirit

These are just a few I can rattle off as I type this, but NAVIGATION has such a deeper meaning for me these days.  I am starting to “get it” more the longer I am a part of this great TEAM at UCF.  Navigation is helping me shape that I am and what I am.

So take a minute and think about how you are NAVIGATING your life.

Safe travels,

Brian

 

About Brian Satola

Assistant Director Race Director, Half Full Triathlon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

