Jessica’s Story

As most of you know, my blog last week was about an upcoming event, Towson Tackles Cancer. I was at Johnny Unitas Stadium this past  Saturday womaning the UCF tent and was very excited to run my first event since working at the Ulman Fund. I wanted to take the chance this week to thank a few people who made the event a success and to share the Ulman Cancer Fund\Towson University PSA with you.

Before the event even took place, there were many people who helped me make the event a success. The UCF was given the opportunity to create a PSA that would run during half time. Since the event was entitled, Towson Tackles Cancer, I wanted the PSA to be about a “face of cancer” at Towson. To achieve this goal, I reached out to a client of the UCF’s, Jessica Hensley, a Towson graduate, who had recently been diagnosed with AML (acute myeloid leukemia). Jessica shared her story with me and allowed the UCF to use her story for the PSA.  Thank you Jessica, your story is amazing and I am honored that you shared it with me and the entire Towson Football Stadium.

For those of you who don’t know me, I am NOT computer savvy. I recently started using facebook religiously and just signed up for twitter. I needed good some help, and fast. This is where Matt Brown comes in. Matt Brown is a video making guru who has been a dedicated UCF volunteer. Within a few days, Matt was meeting with me to hammer out the details about the PSA. After about an hour, we had the framework completed. 24 hours later, Matt gave me the finished version which looks awesome.Thanks again Matt for helping this technology challenged person create a PSA! After the PSA aired during halftime, I received great feedback about our message and Jessica’s story.

Check on the Towson Tackles Cancer PSA!!!

About Ashley Portrey

Volunteer Coordinator, AmeriCorps member, tennis player, Thanatologist, volunteer, and bargain shopper. Loves anything green, red skittles, tennis, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jessica’s Story

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Jessica’s Story | Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults' Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

