“TEAM”

I have chosen to take a few minutes this week to talk about the term “team” and what it means to me.  I try not to pontificate too much, but here I go….

“Team” as defined by Dictionary.com is a number of people associated in a joint action.  Simple enough… yes. Powerful, hell YES!  I am always intrigued by the power of team.  This last week has really reminded me of the importance of team building as we launched 2011 Team Fight as well as we begin to make expansions within the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults staff.  It has caused me to continue to think of what comprises a good team and what type of people are we trying to attract to our team.  I know, such deep thought, but I do feel strongly that as we grow our UCF team, it is important to attract and retain good people.

So I will give my two cents and I encourage you all to comment about how you would personally define “team”.  I consider our team at UCF to be special, but of course I am biased.  We have many programs, many groups, BUT we are 1 TEAM.  Everyone on our team has a strong tie to our mission which enables them to, at times, take a step back and remember the mission first mentality of the organization.  This in short is team first!  A team is a sum of its parts… and so on!  SO, if we attract great people, passionate people, educate them about our mission and the needs of our clients, lead them in a responsible manner, communicate clear goals and trust them to do the right thing, our TEAM will be successful and have an impact on this crazy fight we are in.

It is so rewarding to be a part of this great team as we grow here at UCF.  It is imperative that we grow in a responsible way, but we have been able to attract great people to our organization which has strengthened the parts of our team!  So as we build this team to include Team Fight, Patient Navigation Program, Cancer to 5K, College Scholarships, Half Full Triathlon, and Community Outreach, we look to attract great people and build the strongest possible team that will help us lend support and raise awareness of young adult cancer issues!

Thanks for being a part of this FIGHT!

About Brian Satola

Assistant Director Race Director, Half Full Triathlon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

