Why I FIGHT!

As the 2010 Ulman Cancer Fund’s TEAM FIGHT season wraps up and the 2011 season is just about to kick-off I thought I would write a little bit about my inspiration for taking part in the cancer FIGHT.

Holly and her children.

I am going on my 3rd year at UCF and it has been an amazing journey that I definitely would not have taken without the help of someone very special to me.  In 2003, my sister Holly was diagnosed with Stage 4 Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma.  It was a time that I will never ever forget for many reasons.  One of those reasons was that it helped me take a much-needed look inside my life to enable me to begin to figure out what was really important in my life.  In my eyes, I was the lucky kid in the family.  I was lucky enough to do well in school, get a scholarship to play football in college and embark on a career that allowed me to make a good living.  Holly was the one who drew the short straw.  Childhood leukemia at 8 years old and now lymphoma!  Why her?  Not fair at all!

Well things happen for a reason, and while I would never ever wish this diagnosis on anyone, it changed my life forever also.  Holly’s illness allowed us to spend many days and nights talking.  I wanted so badly just to fix things, but realized that the doctors and treatments were in place to do that.  So I spent time in Birmingham, Alabama visiting her and doing the best I could to help out however I could.  Looking back, I can’t even remember exactly what we talked about, but our conversations about what is important definitely made an impact.

Flash forward almost 8 years and here I am at the Ulman Cancer Fund doing my best to help young adults affected by cancer and their families make some sense of a journey that they definitely did not want to embark on.  I will continue to work with our team here at UCF to find ways to help as best we can.  This journey is not fair, but it is a journey none-the-less. Helping others remain optimistic while battling this disease is very important.  We are in this FIGHT together!

Sooooo—-Why Does Brian Fight!— I FIGHT for Holly!  I FIGHT because I CAN!

I am committed to help make a difference in this FIGHT against cancer.  I am fueled by a passion that Holly made me realize that I have.  To talk to her and to see her is truly my inspiration to do my best to make a difference.  I know my impact is small, but collectively we can all make a difference.

Thanks for reading this post and I hope you will consider FIGHTING with us!

Ways you can get involved in our mission!

About Brian Satola

Assistant Director Race Director, Half Full Triathlon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I FIGHT!

  1. Toni Klein says:

    Your blog brought back so many memories and actually brought me to tears. I’m so very proud of all you’ve accomplished in this most necessary battle. xoxo

  2. Holly McCann says:

    Knowing you have my back through everything is very empowering! I can’t even put into words all how proud I am to be your sister and want you to know how big your impact to inspire people truly is…and if I have to be your inspiration…I’ve got your back throughout this incredible journey! I’ll fight WITH you, any day!!!

  3. Tracy says:

    I knew when I saw Why you fight what I would find. It brought tears to my eyes at the memories but so much joy to know that it was in the past (even though a fight continues for a lifetime). You are doing such a great thing-keep it up! What an inspiration!

  4. Adam Butler says:

    To a great brother and a focused leader!

Leave a Reply

