Rock the Vote

This past Tuesday was a special day; midterm elections! We were all asked to participate in our civic duty to vote. Enthusiastically, I marched myself to Hillcrest Elementary School and even with my 5’2″ stature, I somehow felt like a giant in this building where the water fountains came up to my knees. I had done my research and knew who I wanted to cast a vote for. After completing my selections I handed the electronic card to the election judge and that was that. Sort of anticlimactic when there has been campaigning, smear campaigning, months and millions invested into a race that culminates on November 2nd. However, I proudly wore my “I Voted Today” sticker all day. (I assure you it was removed from my forehead shortly after this pictures was taken and placed on my jacket.)

My name is Sarah Wainio and I endorse this message!

While leaving my polling location and alma mater (can I call an elementary school that?!) I bumped into Joe Hooe, running for Maryland House of Delegates district 12A, buying girl scout cookies. First I must say, brilliant with the impulse-buy location, ladies. Second, it was very neat to bump into a candidate. No matter if our politics align, this man cares deeply about his state and that is something I respect.

Ultimately, it is a personal decision whether you will vote or not. To me, having the chance to share my opinion and choose those who govern me has always felt like a gift. We are blessed to live in a country where it is also a right. I was incredibly proud when I received my voters card my senior year of high school. (Only to find out during the next election you will never use this card, you only need your driver’s license to prove your identity).

On a slightly less serious side of the spectrum, you have been enlisted with an opportunity to vote for Maryland’s Outstanding Blog (Mobbies). For the purpose of this competition, hosted by the Baltimore Sun, a social media account can also be nominated. I encourage you to do your research, investigate the “candidates” and exercise your right to choose the account that strikes a chord with your heart. If you are reading this blog, in a way you are bumping into a candidate! I care deeply about our presence in the community and fulfilling the UCF’s mission through online platforms!

In the case that the UCF is who you would like to vote for you may vote once a day through November 12th. We are nominated for two categories:

Best Facebook fan page                                                                                                                      Best Twitter Feed (business\nonprofit)

Click here to vote for my blog ... early and often

Happy voting, blog readers!

About The Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults

The Mission of the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults is to enhance lives by supporting, educating and connecting young adults, and their loved ones, affected by cancer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rock the Vote

  1. Katie says:

    Is it bad that the thing that stood out to me the most about this blog post was, “OMG! Sarah is 5’2″?!”

Leave a Reply

