Passion!

I wanted to take an opportunity to write a little about passion and why it has become such an important part of my life.  Feel free to ponder the question….“What are you really passionate about?” This is not a trick question, and there is no one correct answer.

This is truly a very difficult and deep question if you truly take the time to think about it.   Aside from the usual answers people might give, this is truly something that you should think about in order to answer truthfully to yourself. A good exercise when out on a run….

A little about myself.  I hate to see others suffer!   I think that is the basis for my passion.  I want to be able to give someone who suffers and easy “fix it” answer and make things all better.  Just ask my wife, I sometimes still try to do this and have come to the realization that this is just not a healthy response.  Cancer has made me take a deeper look into my attitude about how I deal with tough situations.  I think I have become a better listener and not as eager to say “this is what you need to do”.

I told you in my first post that I would tell you about my inspiration and I will get to that one of these days, but the people I have met that are suffering from a diagnosis of cancer has become a passion for me.  NO, I won’t be able to cure cancer, but dammit, I can help some people who are dealing with this disease.  I have learned that cancer truly digs itself down into so many layers of a person/family and community.  This has been very enlightening for me as I have witnessed its effects on so many different people with many different relationships to the disease.

I continue to learn more about this passion I have and I hope it makes me a better person in the process.  I cherish the relationships that I am building here at the Ulman Cancer Fund.  There are times when there are some hard decisions that have to be made, but I truly believe in what we are doing and that our Mission needs to be the priority for all of us as we look to help as many people as possible.  This is pretty hard to manage at times, but our passion here is very strong and I hope we continue to bring more passionate people to our organization for I truly believe this will have a positive impact on the fight against cancer.

What best somes up my feelings about passion can be seen in 2 questions that have become one of the montra’s of the Awareness Through Sport initiatives that have been a big part of my contributions to the Ulman Cancer Fund.  Why do I Fight?  Why am I Half Full?

I fight because I am passionate about helping others affected by cancer.  I am Half Full because I am optimistic and hopeful that together we can make the lives better by uniting in the fight against cancer.

So for what is is worth, I am passionate about the fight against cancer and I hope you too have the chance to align your career with your passion.  If we are all able to do this at some point in our lives, we will truly make a positive impact on what we choose!

About Brian Satola

Assistant Director Race Director, Half Full Triathlon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

