Who I am and how I got here…

For those of you who know me, you probably know I love what I do and where I work, but you may not know how I made my way into the non-profit world and ultimately became the Team Fight Coordinator for the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults.

My name is Katrina McGowan and I am a local gal.  I graduated from Mount Hebron in 2002 and went on to play lacrosse at Penn State.  In addition to enjoying many of the glorious things college had to offer, I was also very involved with an amazing event called THON. Thon raised money for cancer patients and their families.  After getting involved with Thon, I knew that once my lacrosse career had ended I wanted to stay involved with the cancer world.  I also knew I wanted to do a crazy thing called a triathlon…

Well fast forward a few years… I made my way into Iron Girl via a charity slot from the one and only Ulman Cancer Fund.  In addition to the personal connections I have to the cause (which I will talk about later), this was a perfect fit for my post college goal.  I trained and raced with Team Fight that year and successfully completed my first triathlon!

As some of you may have experienced, I got the triathlon bug!  I continued to race and raise money for a couple of years with Team Fight.  But, before I knew it my life was going to change drastically…and for the BETTER!

In April 2009 I was laid off from my job, yup a product of the recession!  Because I am someone who has a hard time just sitting around, I filled my time by volunteering in the office at the UCF while going on interview after interview.  I didn’t know it at the time, but the UCF was expanding and looking to bring on a person to run Team Fight.  You can imagine my reaction when I was asked to come on staff as a full-time employee for a cause I was very passionate about and a team I knew well. It’s an understatement to say Iwas ECSTATIC!!!  At that moment I realized that the last few months had happened for a reason and I was right where I was supposed to be.

Team Fight continues to be one of the largest programs of the Ulman Cancer Fund.  Simply put, Team Fight is a motivated group of great people of all ages and athletic abilities training for endurance events to support young adults with cancer.  And it’s my job to manage it.

I look forward to sharing the remarkable stories of Team Fight and the PEOPLE behind the cause!  Thanks for reading and see you same time same place next Thursday!


About Katrina McGowan

Program Coordinator of Team Fight for UCF, working my way into the triathlon and marathon world, lover of the outdoors, self proclaimed foodie, aspiring wine connoisseur, with a slight addiction to any reality show on BRAVO or HGTV, traveling, shopping, while trying to make a difference in this crazy world we live in!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

