Volunteer Maryland at the Ulman Cancer Fund

My role at the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults is unique and enriching. To explain why I am here and how I came to be here, I’ll give you a little background on me! I am currently a graduate student at Hood College studying Thanatology, which in layman’s terms is Grief Counseling.  My program allows for hands on practicum classes and I took advantage and volunteered at Hospice. After volunteering at Hospice for a year, I wanted to pursue other ways I could give back to the community during graduate school. A friend told me about Volunteer Maryland and I thought it was an amazing opportunity to give back to the community. Volunteer Maryland has many different volunteer opportunities throughout the state. There are currently 33 active volunteer Maryland coordinators in the state of Maryland.  I began looking at some of the organizations that were looking for Volunteer Maryland partnerships in the upcoming year. I immediately felt connected to the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults because the mission statement hit home for me. When I read. “The  Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults enhances lives by supporting, educating, and connecting young adults, and their loves ones, affected by cancer,” I was hooked and ready to jump on board!

What is Volunteer Maryland? Volunteer Maryland partners volunteer coordinators with non-profit organizations who want to grow their volunteer programs. I am currently participating in a year of service with AmeriCorps at The Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults. AmeriCorps is a U.S. federal government program that was created under President Bill Clinton by the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993.

During the year, I will be working on the University Outreach Program, Peer Mentor Program, and the Community Ambassador Program. Each of these programs is unique and has amazing volunteers. I want to showcase the programs and the volunteers each week. One volunteer a week will be sharing their stories and experiences with the Ulman Cancer Fund. Hopefully their stories will make you want to reach out and volunteer with the UCF!

Stay tuned for fascinating volunteer stories…

About Ashley Portrey

Volunteer Coordinator, AmeriCorps member, tennis player, Thanatologist, volunteer, and bargain shopper. Loves anything green, red skittles, tennis, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Volunteer Maryland at the Ulman Cancer Fund

  1. Corrine says:

    nice to meet you ashley portrey!

Leave a Reply

