An Extra Ounce of Fight

This blog is written by one of our summer interns, Christina Sheridan. You can read more about Christina on her bio page. http://www.ulmanfund.org/About-Us/Our-Team/Christina-Sheridan.aspx

*************************************************************************************

As I began to think about my first ever UCF blog post, a lot of ideas came to mind. I could write about the amazing atmosphere of the office, the wonderful people I work with, the proximity of some of my favorite lunch spots and the list goes on. In the end I realized that while all of those things were amazing bonuses, I had to write about my absolute favorite part about working at UCF, which is the overwhelming sense that what I am doing each day means something.

As you can see in my Bio, I pursued this internship to do something different and to meet new people. While I already knew who and what UCF was, I don’t believe that I realized the magnitude of the affect that working here and becoming so deeply involved was going to have on me. I learn something new each day, whether it is from my co-workers or the people I get to meet on a daily basis. It has been nearly a week and I cannot even count the amount of things that have inspired me. I am happy to come to work each day because I love being inspired. I have been an athlete for as long as I can remember; there are definitely those days where I need the extra push, that extra ounce of fight that I am not sure that I have on a given day. On those days, in those moments when I am on my last sprint or my last chin-up, I have always told myself to keep going, to fight just a little bit longer, to push through. Working here at UCF gave that little saying a new meaning. To keep going and to fight a little bit longer is a lot more than just getting that last sprint in or that last chin-up; it is digging deep down and finding the will that you never thought you had or the overwhelming sense that you can do anything you want to do.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My goal for this summer was to learn as much as I could about running a non-profit, business skills and all that I could that would help me in career and life. While it is still my goal to learn, I have an additional goal I would like to add and that is to find my own sense of courage that I see in so many of the people I meet at UCF. If I can gain even an ounce of the fight from the people around me, I know that I will go far.

Cheers to an amazing first week and thank you to everyone who has inspired me!

Christina (aka Intern #3)

About The Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults

The Mission of the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults is to enhance lives by supporting, educating and connecting young adults, and their loved ones, affected by cancer.
This entry was posted in Internships, Mission Awareness, UCF, Volunteerism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

