Run Across America!!! Thoughts from Chris Jarc

Driving across America with the RV, I was totally excited about everything!  I wasn’t sure how everything was going to go down, but I was up in this to get it done!  There are so many awesome people at the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults, members of Team Fight, and Rev3 that you know it is going to be a memorable time!

When Brian and Brock told us about the dedication circle (UCF’s way to bring perspective and inspiration to the cancer fight by having individuals dedicate the day to someone affected by cancer) I really wasn’t sure what to say – my mind always races a mile a minute so I would say something from the heart and previous experiences. It was a great way to start the day because it got your mind right; The reason for the run! That was my line I dropped like at least a million times when I was handing out RAA cards and UCF stickers throughout the run.  And it’s what usually resulted in a handshake. I’m not talking about a “hey nice to meet you at Starbucks for your large coffee in the morning handshake”, I’m talking about a handshake that would send shivers through you like you were shaking the hand of Zeus midway a lightning bolt throw!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One may ask, “Why is it like that”? It is because no matter where you went or who you talked to, that person or someone they know has been affected by cancer. The lady at the liquor store drive through, the toll booth attendant on 412 in Oklahoma, the checkout guy at AutoZone, the lady filling up behind me at a gas station in Tennesee, etc. That list is way longer but you get my point! Cancer is so widespread and I had no idea.  You can read statistics in a book and say, “WOW! that’s a lot”, but if you go out there and talk to people about it you understand it from a whole new level. I was totally wicked bummed that I busted my foot and couldn’t run the whole thing. But I also feel like it was a blessing in disguise because I was able to help all the other runners get up and out there to do the incredible by being part of the like, WOAH support team! By being part of the support crew, I was able to interact more with people along the way and get the word out about UCF, which brought lots of thanks, tears, and appreciation.

This whole Run was more than the Run, it was about the Reason! If you relate this run to building sandcastles on the beach – we all did way more than build a castle. We built Trump Towers and the Chicago skyline including the lake and river!!!!! Best time ever, memories I will never forget! Thank you to everyone!!!!!!!!!

~ Christopher Jarc

Chris, the self described “facilitator of needs”, is a member of the Rev3 family and a crucial support person. He was key in the Run Across America by providing unparalleled support for the runners and in spreading the “REASON” for the run to individuals across the country. His dedication and enthusiasm were key in keeping spirits high over the course of the journey. He is also the creator and master of the “heel slap chest pop” and gives an awesome high five!

About The Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults

The Mission of the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults is to enhance lives by supporting, educating and connecting young adults, and their loved ones, affected by cancer.
This entry was posted in Events, Mission Awareness, Run Across America, UCF, Volunteerism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

