It’s About PEOPLE!

My name is Brian Satola and I am the Assistant Director for the Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults.  I figured out would write my first blog post here for UCF about what is important to me.  I have been a member of the UCF team for over 2 years and it has been a very rewarding experience for me.  This is mainly due to the people I have been lucky enough to meet over that time.

There are many people who have impacted my life since I have joined the fund.  Staff, supporters, friends, family, survivors, patients, clients, doctors, nurses, business people, politicians, children, athletes, celebrities, and the list goes on.  So, I do feel strongly that PEOPLE are the reason I do what I do.  There are so many stories which I am lucky enough to come to hear each day that truly enhance my passion for life and my family.  Some are very sad, while many are so inspirational that they give me goosebumps.  At a later date I will share my STORY and try to add some clarity for all to understand why I am here at the Ulman Cancer Fund.

So much will be shared throughout this blog and I thank the team for committing their efforts to share each day.  I will have a weekly post that will go out on Tuesdays.  I promise to be more detailed as I will try to share some of the stories I hear each day.

I will share a quick story about a new friend of mine.  Her name is Jessica.  She is truly a supergirl as evidenced from her blog “Notes from Supergirl”.  She is a very cool chick and very passionate about life and her family.  She has shared her view of life and the need to have a positive or “half full” perspective whenever possible.  She has been sick for a bit now, but if fighting like hell and such a great person.  My initial tie to her when I first met her was that she reminded me of my sister Holly.  They are so similar in personality it is scary.  I will share more about my sister Holly at a later date!

I am visiting Jessica today at the Cancer Center. She has just completed a stem cell transplant and is fighting as her counts are getting back to normal. Again, she could not be more positive as I read her blog and talk to her in her room.  Though she doesn’t know it, she has helped me work to look at things at an even more positive light.  I guess I need to look at things more “Half Full“…..now that is ironic…huh?

I plan to do my best to not bore you with my blog and will try to share as best I can.  I appreciate you all for taking the time to read this blog and understand the people who are behind the UCF. It IS about PEOPLE!

About Brian Satola

Assistant Director Race Director, Half Full Triathlon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s About PEOPLE!

  1. Jan Satola says:

    Bri,
    I look forward to reading your blogs each week..luv u xox

Leave a Reply

